SCA 2022

This year, the 21st annual ACM SIGGRAPH / Eurographics Symposium on Computer Animation (SCA), the premier forum for innovations in computer animation and physics-based simulation, will be a hybrid face-to-face and online event. The conference is hosted at Durham University UK on 13th-15th, September. We encourage attendants to join us physically at Durham for a complete conference experience, while we also allow synchronised online attendance for those who may have travel difficulties.

This year, accepted full papers will be published in the journal Computer Graphics Forum, and accepted short papers will be published in the conference proceedings indexed by ACM and Eurographics. Please refer to our call-for-paper page for paper submission information.

Recent SCAs can be found here: SCA 2021, SCA 2020, SCA 2019, SCA 2018.

Keynote Speakers

Steven LaValle
University of Oulu

Steven M. LaValle is Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, in Particular Robotics and Virtual Reality, at the University of Oulu. Since 2001, he has also been a professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois. He has also held positions at Stanford University and Iowa State University. His research interests include robotics, virtual and augmented reality, sensing, planning algorithms, computational geometry, and control theory. In research, he is mostly known for his introduction of the Rapidly exploring Random Tree (RRT) algorithm, which is widely used in robotics and other engineering fields. In industry, he was an early founder and chief scientist of Oculus VR, acquired by Facebook in 2014, where he developed patented tracking technology for consumer virtual reality and led a team of perceptual psychologists to provide principled approaches to virtual reality system calibration, health and safety, and the design of comfortable user experiences. From 2016 to 2017 he was Vice President and Chief Scientist of VR/AR/MR at Huawei Technologies, Ltd. He has authored the books Planning Algorithms, Sensing and Filtering, and Virtual Reality. He currently leads an Advanced Grant from the European Research Council on the Foundations of Perception Engineering. More information:

Rachel McDonnell
Associate Professor
Trinity College Dublin

Rachel McDonnell is an Associate Professor of Creative Technologies at Trinity College Dublin, Ireland. Her research focusses on animation of virtual characters, using perception to both deepen our understanding of how virtual characters are perceived, and directly provide new algorithms and guidelines for industry developers on where to focus their efforts. She has published over 100 papers in conferences and journals in her field, including many top-tier publications at venues such as SIGGRAPH, Eurographics, and IEEE TVCG, etc. She serves as Associate Editor on journals such as ACM Transactions on Applied Perception and Computer Graphics Forum, and is a regular member of many international program committees (including ACM SIGGRAPH and Eurographics). More information:

Niloy J. Mitra
University College London (UCL)

Niloy J. Mitra leads the Smart Geometry Processing group in the Department of Computer Science at University College London and the Adobe Research London Lab. He received his PhD from Stanford University under the guidance of Leonidas Guibas. His current research focuses on developing machine learning frameworks for generative models for high-quality geometric and appearance content for CG applications. Niloy received the 2019 Eurographics Outstanding Technical Contributions Award, the 2015 British Computer Society Roger Needham Award, and the 2013 ACM SIGGRAPH Significant New Researcher Award. He was elected as a fellow of Eurographics in 2021 and the SIGGRAPH Technical Papers Chair 2022. Besides research, Niloy is an active DIYer and loves reading, cricket, and cooking. More information:

Daniel Holden
Principal Animation Programmer
Epic Games

Daniel Holden is a Principal Animation Programmer at Epic Games doing research and development on animation in the Unreal Engine. Before this he worked at Ubisoft's industrial research lab "La Forge", developing techniques using Machine Learning in various areas of video game development such as animation and physics. He completed his PhD at The University of Edinburgh in 2017 with work focused on the use of neural networks and machine learning for character animation. His research has been presented at a number of conferences including SIGGRAPH, SIGGRAPH Asia, and GDC. More information:

Keynote: Future Animation Systems Ten years ago, the ideas behind Physically Based Animation began to revolutionize rendering - not through specific methods or implementations - but via the philosophy they implied. I believe that if we want to build animation systems of the future we need to go through a similar philosophical shift. In this talk I will discuss some of the lessons we can learn from this history of rendering, what challenges (and advantages) we have that are unique to animation, and how some of my previous research has tried to both tackle these challenges and exploit the advantages to get us closer to that future.



Durham University is the third oldest university in England (Google Map), following Oxford and Cambridge, with the campus's Cathedral and Castle being a UNESCO world heritage. It is located at Durham in North East England, which is one of the safest cities in the UK. It is ranked top 100 in the world and the 6th in the UK. As a member of the elite Russell Group, Durham University focuses on research excellence delivered by world-class academics.

Getting here by air

Durham is 30 minutes' drive from Newcastle International Airport and about 40 minutes from Teesside International Airport. Both have regular domestic and international flights. Durham is linked to Newcastle Airport by rail and metro.

Getting here by train

A number of train operators offer direct and regular routes to Durham Railway Station, including London and Edinburgh. Durham is around 3 hours from London, just over 3 hours from Birmingham, 2½ hours from Manchester, 1½ hours from Edinburgh and 45 minutes from York.

A taxi will take you from the station to any College in about 5 minutes and you can walk to the city centre in 10 minutes.